Review: Labrador Paper Notebook Triangle

The Notebook Triangle is made by Labrador Paper, based in Thailand. I was attracted to this notebook for the unique design of the cut corners. I love the aesthetic and the way it looks. This notebook is one of my favorite designs.

Triangle Notebook Labrador Paper

The notebook is bare cardboard dyed a camel color, with a vinyl spine. The elastic band is a quality rubber band. I’m careful with my notebooks, but I do worry about the long-term durability of the cardboard cover. The company’s philosophy of sustainable and ecological design is embodied in the materials: bare cardboard, rubber band and green read paper. And they execute it really well.

I love the unique design of the notebook, the cut corners, and the asymmetrical elastic closure. However, since the elastic closure is also asymmetrical and doesn’t press evenly on the cover, as you can see, the cover stays somewhat lifted at the bottom. After keeping the notebook on my bookshelf tightly pressed between books on a full shelf, it went away.

Triangle Notebook Labrador Paper

The paper is billed as Green Read Paper, which is designed to reduce light reflection hitting the paper, and this reduces strain on the eyes. The paper has some slight texture to the touch. Writing on the paper is nice, however. The description states the notebook will lay completely flat, which I did not find. The binding is pretty tight, but perhaps over time the binding will loosen up and lay flat.

Triangle Notebook Labrador Paper

There’s a small pocket in both the front and back cover. Included in the back pocket is a set of colored cardboard bookmark tabs.

Triangle Notebook Labrador Paper Triangle Notebook Labrador Paper

I don’t think I’ll be using these bookmark tabs, but I they’re pretty cool.

Triangle Notebook Labrador Paper

The Notebook Triangle below an A5 Moleskine Notebook for reference.
Triangle Notebook Labrador Paper

Specifications

  • A5
  • 144 pages
  • 8mm lines

Where to Buy:

  • Homu Store (if located in Southeast Asia)
  • Stickerrific (if located in US. They were so helpful and wonderful!!)

Leave a comment